Walk the dog

Hello, I’m a beginner and new to the forum. I have only had my yoyo for a day and i’ve been practicing non stop. I’ve been practicing my sleeper and strong sleepers mostly, so I thought it was time to walk the dog. The thing is, whenever I touch my yoyo to the ground when im doing it, my yoyo goes sideways instead of straight and usually goes on to one side and just starts spinning and getting screwed up. My yoyo is the one from the starter kit. I don’t know what i’m doing wrong, help would be appriciated :smiley:

Which starter kit did you buy? Most likely the problem lies in you not throwing perfectly straight. If only one half of the yoyo touches the ground the yoyo will veer off to the side.

I got the “yoyofactory starter kit.” That’s all it says. I also notice that sometimes the yoyo goes backwards then to the right? Is there something wrong with my sleeper? I feel like im doing something severely wrong

Make sure you are holding the yo-yo properly. When holding your palm up and ready to do a sleeper, the string should go OVER the yo-yo and on to your finger.

I don’t know what you mean by over, when i wind the stream up, im winding it away from over the top of the yoyo, is that correct?

doesn’t really matter how you wind it.  It is how you hold it after.  the string should go from  your finger, over the axle of the yoyo.  Not under the axle of the yoyo.  This video will explain it.  Also the options at the top have a link to “LEARN” section, which will explain everything you will likly ask us too.  ;) 

I have watched those 2 videos, that’s why i came here :). No matter what my yoyo always comes back toward me when i try to walk the dog and I don’t know what im doing wrong.

Okay,

By come back to you do you mean come back to your hand or it rolls to you?

If so the string is going over the axle the wrong way, or you could be doing a breakaway, I’m assuming the string is going over the axle the wrong way.