Tips for Performers?

Hey there everyone,

I have a few questions today for you performers out there. Before I get into those, let me give you a little background into why and what I’m asking.

I have been yo-yoing for a little over 3 years now, my brother almost the same. We both enjoy public speaking, as well as being up on stage and sharing our love for skill toys (Which has grown from yo-yos to also encompass juggling, diablo, spinning plates, and a little kendama here and there.) Since we are both young, I am 17 and he is 14 now, 15 and 12 when we started, we decided to start a small business of sorts. Since we loved performing and skill toys we thought why not combine the two and try to make some money? ;D We called our group Spins and Strings Yo-Yoing, and even got custom t-shirts and business cards.

We started off just doing performances wherever we could, and for free most of the time, and occasionally for tips. We did several historical reenactments, performance is 4-H, telethons, farmers markets, and a library program. It took us a while before we got our first paying gig, but eventually we did. The year after the first one we were able to triple that number doing performances as part of library summer reading programs.

Continuing to practice and try and get our name out there, we have 4 performances alone next month. Most of the time, it is still just performing for tips or things of that nature. This means that the influx of money we get in is relatively small still. We have a few paying gigs, and are going to see about getting into several different area Farmers Markets, but those won’t happen until the summer.