Thrower's Block

Have you ever gotten it? You just can’t come up with new tricks, and can only do your old tricks? It just happened to me. I haven’t been able to come up with any new material for tricks, or anything really. I just got out of it though, and have already begun working on new tricks, as well as finishing my song I’ve been working on for a few months. I may have to film a video over spring break to show my new stuff (Hint, hint).

So, yeah, have you ever had thrower’s block? (Really just a slightly different form of writer’s block)

every week…

Whenever I get throwers block, I just take a trick that I’m well practiced in, go about halfway though, and then trying something crazy, even if I think it won’t work.

If I don’t come up with anything new to practice, I keep on trying crazy stuff.

This method has never failed me.

Just coming out of a block myself

It’s happened to me several times and it just caused me to change my style completely for some reason.
I’ve finally quit changing my style though and I don’t try to create new tricks anymore since I’m now satisfied with all of mine.
I just do the same tricks/combos and If I randomly come across a new twist/element to add to one of my tricks/combos that looks better then before I’ll add it in.

yeah, not a fun feeling. What helps me is finding somewhere where I can see the string well (ie over some dark surface with good lighting) and listening to music and just throwing. That’s when I come up with stuff.

Easy solution: don’t make up your own tricks! Just learn other people’s tricks!

I’m totally kidding. I mean, that’s what I do for the most part, but still totally kidding. :wink:

I just stop yoing for like a week or two and then start again when the block happens to meh.

And I kendama it up in that time period :wink: