The Ducc Drops tomorrow - Here's the "making of" story

(Note - This is an excerpt from my book “How to Run a Boutique Yoyo Business”)

The Ducc

The Yoyo design process is a blend of both science and art, mixing aesthetics and function. I am not a yoyo designer. I’m an ideator. My skills revolve around generating ideas and building a story. When planning a yoyo release for Rain City Skills, I work rather backwards. I first decide what idea I want to sell and start building the story. Then I narrow down a type of yoyo that will fit that idea. Then I connect with an experienced designer to turn that idea into a quality design. Part of success in business is knowing your strengths and knowing when to hire experts.

This section begins with the creation of a design and interviews with experienced yoyo designers. From there, we move into finding a shop and getting your yoyos made. I conclude with strategies for selling them, so you can move onto the next design.

For starters, I want to share a project from the beginning of 2018. This case study demonstrates the process of design, testing, and production, as well as some of the pitfalls to avoid.

Design by Committee

I decided to organize a community yoyo design with the Facebook group “Yoyo BST & Talk.” Devin Flores (A yoyo designer) offered to help out by creating the actual design schematics. We started with broad specifications and narrowed down to the small details. Each step involved a survey of the community, basing the next aspect of the design on that information — a total of twelve design questions listed below. In the end, we had a yoyo design.