The birth of Hollywood Modern Yoyos

Hi everyone! Ross here. You may know me as the guy who does big flowy tricks on Instagram, or have seen my products around, most notably ‘mouse pads’ the most affordable premium 19mm yoyo response pads on the market, the melatonin: a pocketable throw that plays big and the Kill Your Yoyo podcast where I interview the best yoyoers of our time about yoyo theory and performance.

Well, recently a lot changed in my life. I graduated college, promptly moved to Hollywood for a new job that I love, and I was finally in a place to really start pumping money into my yoyo business. Once I started looking at the financials and really considering potential risks I came to the conclusion that the name 'ilinx" was going to hold me back in the long run. I want to be one of the large brands that can make an impact on growing the community, not a little hobby operation. Maybe it’s a delusion, but that’s where I’m aiming. Anyway, I would constantly hear people mispronouncing ilinx and I’ve never seen anyone spell it correctly. It doesn’t matter how much I like a name, if I want to make a company that people are going to love, I need to have a name that they can actually spell.

So I made the decision to adopt a new name “helix throws”. Helix was a great name because it would allow me to keep the “ix” that had been my Instagram profile picture for so long, plus the helix/DNA tie-in held all kinds of great branding opportunities (or so I thought). I went on to incorporate and started buying new stock of pads and bearings to put together the best offer in yoyo hardware history.