An Introduction Saga (tl;dr warning!)

“Hey there yo-yoers!” (to quote the venerable Sniffy-Yo)

I’m new to YYE and yo-yoing in general, and thought I’d take a moment to introduce myself. My name is Rob, I’m 24, I live in my hometown, San Diego, but left my heart in San Francisco. This is my story.

While in my MCAT studying dungeon a few weeks ago, I was feasting on a Big Stick™ popsicle and decided to take a much needed procrastination break by educating myself on the history and wonders of this classic frozen treat via Wikipedia (does anyone else do this?). There was no Big Stick™ Wiki entry, but nonetheless, I ended up getting a primer on the history of the Popsicle™. After learning that “popsicle” isn’t actually a “real” word with a Greek/ancient pedigree, but rather, the name of a brand that has made its way into our everyday vocabularies (like “chapstick” and “xerox”), I struggled to remember what these words were called. Enter the Wikipedia vortex of doom.

After throwing out some guesses into Wikipedia, I landed on the correct word - eponym. The adventure commenced something like this:

eponym ☞ list of trademark/brand name eponyms ☞ histories of how various eponyms evolved (did you know that “heroin” and “escalator” were actually trademarked brand names? gee whiz!!) ☞ international trademark law ☞ more titillating eponym histories ☞ etc.

Working my way from “aspirin” to “zipper”, I eventually landed on a special word - “yo-yo”. I was shocked - I had no idea the word “yo-yo” as the west knows it had its beginnings in a trademarked brand name. Of course, the story of the word’s evolution was just the intro to the actual “yo-yo” Wikipedia article, and I ended up reading the rest of the article.