String Tension Problem

I’m pretty new to unresponsive play. Right now I am throwing a YYF Whip. Working on my binds, etc. My current frustration is my string gets a lot of tension on it. It wraps together, knots even. For example I will throw a few man of the flying trapeze and his brother. After a few times, it’s tangled. Even doing front/bottom mount tricks as well.
Do I need to work on my throw and other techniques? and or up grade my yo yo? Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Here’s a link to help on managing the string tension. It’s something we all have to deal with, it’s not because of your throw. No need for a new yoyo.

http://yoyoexpert.com/learn/017-intermediate-string-tension.html

1 Like

String ages as well. Not sure what string YYF includes with a Whip (or if you’re using that string) but string also varies greatly in quality and composition (if you grabbed a cotton string not really knowing the difference, you may be in a world of hurt!).

1 Like

It happens to everyone. Its not u or the yoyo, string tightening or loosening is inevitable and u cant really avoid it. Just check ur string every couple throws to fix the tension… u get used to the routine eventually. Some strings affect tension more than others. Try getting 100% polyester string

I have to check my string tension after every throw(it is not that I have to). After awhile you get into the habit of checking and it is no big deal. I would start off with some Fat Kitty String and then get better string as you progress. Good luck:)

Are you a lefty? String tension is a lot harder to manage if you are because the string loosens instead of tightening.

Thanks for the link and the advice all. I am using polyester strings. I changed the string and things seem a lot better. I’m going to have to change my string a bit more often then I have been. Thank you again.