String questions

Hi Everyone. I just made the step up to an 888 from the Spintastics Tigershark that I’ve been playing with for the last 10 years. What an unbelievable difference.

However the one thing that has me a bit puzzled is the extra wide bearing on the 888. It is great for landing string tricks, but I can’t seem to ever keep the string the dead center. As a result I throw a lot of off axis sleepers.

Is there a trick that I don’t know about to keep my string loop in the center of the bearing without buying a shaved bearing?

Thanks,
Joe

Your sleeper isn’t straight. It happens to everyone. Here’s a tip that helps almost everyone: Go to an area in your home that has long lines on the floor… kitchen tile, wood flooring, a straight crack in a sidewalk, even. Throw your sleeper. The goal is to keep the gap of the yoyo lined up with the crack in the ground. This will help your muscles remember what makes it straightest.

I hope this helps!

Thank xdohl, I just tried that. which with more practice will help my muscle memory, however, i think that is only part of my problem.

What happens after i do a bind or two, I notice that while my yo yo is sleeping that the string has moved off to the side of the bearing (closer to one side than the other). To further illustrate, if I stop the yo yo and just let it hang, it hangs at a slight angle. I’m pretty sure this is affecting my throws b/c when I try to do the exact same throw, my yo yo will tilt right on one throw and left on the next (since the yo yo turns around each throw). when I use something to center the string, i get better throws, but only for as long as the string stays in the center.

What you’re describing is completely normal, I’m afraid. I just checked it out myself, and the string drifts towards one side. Its really just your throw, I believe.