String length question

Hello, Im a beginner yoyo player and have been learning double or nothing. I found that I like a fairly short string, say 4 or 5 fingers below my naval or in the 40 to 42 inch range if measuring. Im fairly tall about 6’2. Not sure why I like my string this length but I do. Double or nothing has me thinking about string length so I would like to course correct now if need be. I am wondering if this is a sufficient amount of string to perfom most 1a tricks? Is it preference or can your string be too short?

2 Likes

It’s just preference really. Your string length is fine if you can still do all your tricks and bind. Short string plays faster and is easier to control. Most tricks are easier with shorter string but some are easier with longer string. It’s definitely beneficial to use a string on the shorter side as a beginner than too long. Also like, you don’t need to commit die hard to a string length like it’s easy to adjust to a longer length later if you feel like you need it at some point. No rules have fun yo

2 Likes

It is mostly preference.

Yes there is such a thing as too short obviously. If you’re playing with a 1 foot/30 cm string you’re not going to get very far probably. But most of it is preference. I’ve met people shorter than me who play with longer string and people taller than me that play with shorter string than I do.

Like @GTDropKnot said. If you can still do all your tricks that’s all that matters.

3 Likes

Agree on all of this but I sort of like to commit to a string lenght, it give me consistency and knowledge on what I am doing, I have always “the same situation” on my hands and get used to it the body get used to a certain string lenght as well, is nice to experiment before stop somewhere and always you can change your mind later evolving your game.