So, what kind of string do you use?

What’s your go-to string of choice?

I’ll start, I spin my own. I’ve never bought bulk or premium strings, other than the ones that come stock with new yoyos.

2 Likes

If I had a fat wallet I’d only use wooly nylon, the companies that make those always small ones that come and go, bigyoyostrings, crocostrings, epic threads, spoil thread, now Airetic, but I’ve supported every single one of them.

I’m a broke college student though so I only use them on my favorite throw or two, everything else is mixture of mainly bulk poly(mainly kitty and YYE) and a few boutique polys(YYSL, zipline)

1 Like

I jump back and forth between kitty and buddha xl for bulk string, and then zipline strings for my “good” yoyos

1 Like

If YYSL ever made nylon strings I probably wouldn’t use anything else ever again

@MattB please make it happen someday :pray:

2 Likes

My own stuff. I like non serger poly mostly, though my best colors fall under that type. Some ggod weighty stuff is what I like best like my m70 strings.

1 Like

I have a ton of slick 6 and slick 8 (50/50 cotton/poly), as well as some gray poly from another time and place and a bunch of generic cotton. So that’s what I use. Works well for me as the situation calls for.

1 Like

@andy569 Hmmm…noted. Last time I looked at this, though, I wasn’t happy with where it was going. That was several years back. I seem to recall no Neon Yellow available, difficulty knotting the end, and something about the performance.

1 Like

I have personally kinda settled on Kitty Fat as the McDonald’s of string – and I don’t mean that as a negative, I mean it as a compliment. It’s reliable, consistent, reasonably cheap in bulk ($19 for 100, thus 19 cents a string), comes in a wide variety of colors, and you can get it anywhere.