So...Much...Crashing

Well, I probably clicked the refresh button over 250 times last night. After about 1 hour and 45 minutes, I finally finished checkout. How long was it before you gave up or finished checkout?

Same here, I got 2 boxes from the website after 1 hour and 45 minutes.

took me two and a half hours. Still got one!

I had no problem. The only thing wrong was the Who’s Online times were wrong, but other than that It was normal.

Really?!?! I had a very different experience, lol.

You guys realize this is WHY the server was having so many problems, right? If you repeatedly request a response from the server, it bogs down. It doesn’t “forget” your previous request. So all you did was overload the server with requests and it choked.

I was a network admin for 3 years and now I teach Comp Sci. I got a box and a bag (and made both purchases separately) because I didn’t refresh. It took a couple of minutes for each page to load, but everything worked fine for me. I made both purchases in less than 45 mins.

3 Likes

The source of the server problems is spot on. Too many requests crashed the server, and a frenzy of refreshing just kept it down.

You got lucky that you didn’t have any time outs. Or did you configure something on the client side to give you longer timeouts? Unlike some other people, you knew that it’s important to not interrupt your EXISTING request in order to refresh. You know that if it’s spinning for a while, that means it’s getting “some” data and being kept alive… all positive motion forward!

But pure patience wouldn’t have done it for everyone. I know networking protocols very well also, and trust me when I say that for most of us a certain amount of refreshes were necessary. The servers actually went down for a while and couldn’t process ANY requests, period (so you would have had to refresh just to initiate the request once they came online!). You are a lucky anomaly. :wink: