Small Bearing VS Large Bearing?

Hello all! Before I made a post about getting a yoyo for my little cousins (5 and 7) and I ended up giving them like 22 I think of my old plastics. And I am going to teach them real tricks soon if they move in with me. If they do, I would like to get them a metal once they can do something like the matrix. I know that is early for a metal, but they really deserve it! So before somebody said that small bearing is better since it can spin better with shorter string. So for a little kid, is small bearing better? If so I was thinking I would get a small bearing Yuuksta for them.

woah woah woah there… a $65 yoyo for a 5-7 year old?? are you kidding@!!! I AM A EXPERT TO MASTER LEVEL YOYO PLAYER BUT I DONT EVEN HAVE A METAL YOYO!!. YOU kiddin…

the string must be cut very short and you wont be happy with the short string. Also short string gives less spintime. thats just wrong… they’re going to ding like 5000 times. not worth it. give them a high end plastic like protostar or northstar.

Age is irrelevant to being allowed to get a metal. I believe that Spencer Nelson was 7 years old when he became sponsored by Chico Yoyo Company, which makes exclusively metal yoyos, thus he was throwing metal yoyos.
I actually just looked over what I said, and have decided to reword. Skill is more relevant to getting a metal than age is, thats is if you care about dinging the yoyo. If you don’t, then get a metal whenever.

As for the OP, yes, I suppose a small bearing might help, but I don’t think it would make that big of a difference, so just get whatever you feel is right. :slight_smile:

hmmm… i agree a little bit with skeleton, i wouldnt just hand a 5 year old a expensive metal and leave for a couple hours i would tell them to be careful and i would make them use it over carpet and watch them… but also age doesnt meen alot when u think if a person will ding your yoyo.