Silenus came back to life

I broke this yo-yo (Silenus) almost the same day I got it. Didn’t even have it for a week. I dented the part where the bearing sits on the yo-yo last year of march or feburary, I forgot. Using pliers.

Many months later, I decided today to test it because i never got to use it. It works again and the dent is gone.

Good thing I didn’t throw it away, the yo-yo wouldn’t spin anymore after that dent!

Dents do move back after a while??

Took me years to learn that soaking 6061 in water overnight pops all the dents and dings out!

Who knew!

2 Likes

I do not think dents move back after a while. But I’m no AL expert.

3 Likes

This is not true.

Dent, dings, scratches won’t go anywhere with soaking in water.

@Boingy-Boing-Help your dent didn’t magically disappear. I bet you damaged the original bearing. Putting a new one in helped.

5 Likes

The yo-yo elf broke into your house and replaced the silenus with thhe exact same color, and used your string. He was careful to place it exactly where you left it. Once he took my good yo-yos and replaced with dented ones, he’s sneaky that way :slight_smile:

7 Likes

The toothpaste may have fixed the dent.

4 Likes

Dental work?

1 Like

That comment was for sure tongue in cheek

3 Likes

Read higher up!

1 Like

I actually never used tooth paste on the silenus, i broke the yo-yo too early (bearing seat) to learn about the paste making the yo-yo shiny. Depending on which one you use, it might make it dull. Ultra bright was what I used on my butterfly xt.

No, I’m using a old bearing. Bearing seat was dented almost to the axel, it was beyond repair basically. Left it on a ziplock bag last year of march. Took it out today to mess around with it and ALMOST works like new.

The dent is gone, but sometimes you can hear the Bearing scratch against the side. I did the gerbil trick on it, thankfully it’s useable.