Should I Enter A Yoyo Contest?

I have been throwing for about three years now and I want to enter a comp. I have no clue what I’ll be going up against though. I don’t know if I’m good enough to even come close to placing top ten. I know 90% of the tricks taught on this website. But if I were to enter should I make up my own complex tricks? Anything helps! Thanks.

Yes, make your own tricks, go in knowing it’ll be fun and nothing else.

Don’t expect to win, if you do great, but enjoy the event.

Most people will make their own tricks when they go to contests because they want to show off something new, but you are not required to do so. Do whatever you like.
At your first few contests, placing is not important. I have been to both Florida and Georgia States and gotten 30th and 26th and I am not ashamed whatsoever. I love going to contests to meet other players, learn new tricks, and have fun.

Yes you should! I’m entering Cal States and I probably won’t make it to finals, but you shouldn’t focus on placing high or anything for your first contest.

do it there tons of fun yoyo contest wise!!! and who cares if you don’t place in the top 10! at least next time you go to a contest you will do better! and the more originality in contests the better!!!

Here is a little perspective…

My first contest was Iowa States 2012. I originally only signed up for sports ladder, but i decided to do a freestyle at the last second…

I got 7th, which just so happened to tie with Shakeem Anderson. I was shocked that I had tied with such an amazing yoyoer.

As for sports ladder, I got first, but its sports ladder, so… :stuck_out_tongue:

So if you can make it, ABSOLUTELY go. Also it is a great way to make friends/acquaintances.

Also, what contest are you going to? Just curious :slight_smile:

Why not? What do you have to lose? You never know how good the outcome may be so go ahead and try.