should I buy a dm?

I have been yoyoing for about 2 months and am about half way thru the Advanced 1 section of YYE’s Learn pages. I have a a YYF Velocity and am starting to get frustrated with wome of the 1A tricks. Seems like I always run out of spin time or the yoyo gets so slow it starts to go crooked before I get completely thru the trick. I can throw straight and pretty hard ( I timed a normal sleeper at just over 2 minutes) but when I start putting action on the yoyo it seems to slow down fast. I know it is probably just my inexperience, but it is alot easier to just blame my beginner yoyo :-\ From what I’ve read here, the Dark Magic seems to be the consensus good yoyo for beginners moving on to the next level because it can play responsive or unresponsive. I don’t have a lot of money to spend on yoyos so I thought I’d ask around before spending the $40. Do you think the dm will improve my play? If not, what would be better? Also, what string is good for a player of my skill level? I have tried YYE’s 50/50 and 100 % poleyester string so far. ~Thanks in advance.

no stick with yyf
just my preference
you should get a pgm

1 Like

Try a PGM.

1 Like

Well, first let me say (before you fall into one of the most common beginner misnomers) that there is no yo-yo in the world that will make you a better player. While it IS true that some yo-yos can be limiting because of the way they are made, that two minute sleeper you have on your Journey is long enough to do most tricks that I can on a YYF Genesis.

Moving on to your question though, I do believe that a Dark Magic is a great step up for you. It’s just one of those yo-yos that can really do anything. Sometimes I will go from doing some cool slacks and whips that you need a very unresponsive yo-yo for, to putting in a bearing I keep thick lubed and close the gap all the way for some responsive play. It’s THAT versatile.