Re-Newbie! Questions + Order

howdy all. I was in to yoyos back in 1998 till about 2002. i had plenty of Duncan, but my fave was my Team Losi Cherry Bomb (had 2). i also tried my friends Plamax Turbo BumbleBee… it was beyond awesome. solid, good weight, long sleep. So i am not a newbie, more like… a Re-Newbie lol

cut to November 2013, out of nowhere, i thought (i want a yoyo again). then i found out that yoyos kept evolving lol Thanks to yoyoExpert and youtube, i have learned a lot about all the new stuff, but i still don’t know much.

first yoyo i got was last month. i wanted to try a metal yoyo (back in like 2000, there were a few metal yoyos, but i remember they were like $100+) I wanted my first Metal yoyo to be a DV888, but it wasn’t in my budget (college). so i looked up some reviews and got a $15 metal yoyo off Amazon when i was getting stuff for school anways, just to tack it on to my order.

It was a Magic yoyo N9.

…It sucks. especially on someone who had never heard of/done a bind. it sleeps like 25seconds, and is WAY off balance. the thing bobbles.

So i thought back to my friends bumble bee, thought i would track one down. turns out Duncan makes them now. i got one (again from amazon), and it wasn’t how i remembered. kind of light, and sleeps about 30ish seconds. wasn’t even the black/yellow i ordered. it was green lol. it is only $10, but it isn’t like i remember my friends. (i think the Turbo BumbleBee back then was like$20-$30?)

i may try and track down an original Bumble Bee, just to compare, see if maybe it is better, or if my 11 year old self was just uber impressed with it.

so, now i find myself coming into new monies. first things first, i wont be buying yoyos off amazon again, i intend to use YoYoExpert Exclusively.

I’m looking at getting:

loop 1080 + SLick 6 50/50 strings (for learning looping/responsive)
Hubstack Afterglow + Polyester strings + extra set of white pads (for learning unresponsive and binds)