random observation

in my psychology class i learned that in restaurant menu’s, the items that are pictured are ordered more often and they use that to their advantage. also, items that are listed farther at the top of a list are also chosen more often, not just in menus but any type of list really. anyways, i found that most often, when shopping on this sight that the colorways of the yoyos that are pictured and the ones closer to the top of the list are, more often than not, sold out first or have a lower stock amount left than the others. almost all the time those aren’t even the ones i find physically appealing. sorry if i wasted anyone’s time with this. i just can’t sleep.

I actually noticed that too. I wonder if it’s because other people will recognize it more when you use it? They’ll see that youre using the display? Similar to the way people buy clothes that models advertise instead of the off clearance rack?

I have a psych master’s, and this is definitely true. It’s the reason why, at fast food restaurants, the “value” meals are massive and pictured while the individual items are in a tiny list. They want you to get the value meal because the drink is almost pure profit at a $1 added cost.

But I don’t think that’s really the case here. People generally know what they want when they’re spending this kind of money on an item as trivial as a yoyo. If you put Hulk Smash at the top or the bottom of the list, it’s still going to sell out quickly. Maybe YYE puts the more likely sell out’s up top, but I don’t think the list itself is doing the selling.

The real psychology of yoyo’s is happening in the branding, where the “high end” aluminum discs somehow just seem “worth” 4 times the cost. CLYW has amazing brand identity for such a small company. They do it better than anyone else.

I find it funny that I associate certain colors with certain yoyos. Like I associate the Duncan Raptor with the color orange because the first time I saw a Raptor it was orange.