Raider Mod questions

So I bought two yellow Raiders and some plastic spacers and I have never done the mod before. I have read just about everything I can find on this mod and have just a couple of questions.

1. How much cranking does it actually take? And what I mean is does it take more then a 1/4 turn or is it being cranked over 360 degrees? I just don’t want to over do it because it is hard/impossible to fix overcranking and more then likely it will break my Raiders, nor do I want to under crank because I won’t get the best out of them.

2)This is just an idea I have, but I’m thinking that before I crank the Raiders that I’ll wrap the yoyos in an electric blanket I have on low heat (Don’t want to melt them! ;D ) to warm them up just a little bit to relax the plastic into being cranked. Does anyone think this will actually be a benefit, or will I be wasting my time?

3)Do you have to cut/sand the ends of the axle? Some info I have read says you have to and others don’t even mention it.

A couple of notes about this is that I will be cranking them very easy and slow (Like taking 20 minutes for every 1/4 turn, and loosening to let the pressure ease at every small turn (I’m in no hurry to break my Raiders :D.)

FYI - I know about the Raider EX and I own a pair, so far I’m not so impressed. Even on the tightest gap setting with thick lube it still plays really loose.

Just let me know about any answers you might have for my questions and share your experience with this mod. -Thanks!

Ummmm…???

Please don’t reply to this topic if you don’t have an answer, Thank You.

I think what he’s saying is you’re way over-thinking this whole process. The adjustments are small turns that could be as small as you can make it, or as large as you want to. I find tiny works best.