Questions from a noob

Hello everyone. I’m basically a noob (again). So I have some questions.

What does “bind” mean?

What is silicone used for, and what kind should be used?

What are the different types of bearing, and what do the different ones do?

How do you lube a yoyo and how does it effect the yoyo?

Howdy!

A bind is a technique used to return an unresponsive yoyo to your hand. An unresponsive yoyo is one that doesn’t come back to you with a basic tug. More advanced players like that because it allows for some more complex tricks.

Silicone is a response system, something that causes the yoyo to come back to you. Silicone is available in flowable form, so you kind of squirt it into a little groove in the yoyo near the bearing. There are also silicone pads of many different kinds (that vary in thickness or texture, affecting how responsive the yoyo is) that can be used instead of the flow able silicone in many cases.

There are loads of differ kinds of bearings, and they basically are all designed to spin longer than a “standard” bearing. Some people really care about the kind of bearing they use, I don’t really care, so I can’t give you a great answer to this one.

Lubricant basically slows down your yoyo’s bearing, making it more responsive and quieter. This is also something I don’t use very often, sorry. Here is a video that explains how to put lube on your yoyo (it also outlines how to clean your bearing).

If anyone else could elaborate on bearings and lube, that would be awesome.

Good luck, AgentKuo! Please ask any other questions you have.

1 Like

What does “bind” mean?
Bind is used for Unresponsive play.
It is a trick that you should know when your playing Unresponsive.
Its like putting your yoyo up with gravity pull but you make a trapeze and then you pull down and tug up.
You can use The YoyoExpert Tutorials to learn how to bind.
Also every Yoyofactory Packaging should come with a manual on learning how to bind.