Questions! Also MVP2 or Avant Garde 2?

Hey! I’m pretty new to the world of yoyo’s and I was hoping to get some insight on some things I’ve seen around the Internet, etc. So, here it goes!

1. How long to bearings, axles, and response pads last? If a bearing is treated with oil, where should it be applied?

2. How many types of shapes are there? I’ve heard of H, Butterfly, and a basic shape (somebody called it a D shape?)

3. What are the reasons for a bind not working? Are so called “PRO” response pads better?

And I was curious to see what people think of between MVP2 or AG2. Their shapes seems relatively similar, AG2 with a slightly raised response area, but they both interest me and I am entertaining the thought of getting one of them.

1. It all matters on how much you play and how you take care of them.

2. The shapes that I know of are V shape, H, butterly, imperial (looping), and modified imperial. Please tell me if there are anymore that I’m missing!

3. Just practice binding more and you’ll get it, I started binding with a responsive bearing for practice.

Hope this helped! :slight_smile:

1 Like

The de Is the ZS shape, which is the shape of the Zeus, Avante Garde(both versions) Glacier Express, etc.,

I think it’s called undercut

Shapes that I know of

H-shape. Think YYF 'Star series.
V-Shapes. Makes a “V” in the catch zone.
Wing/Butterfly shape. Think Duncan Butterfly.
Imperial. Shaped like the Imperial.
Modified. Kind of a mix between the Imperial and Butterfly shape. Most modern loopers look like this.

Less common shapes, known to most simply as “Extreme H-Shapes”

What I call the U-Shape. Evil Yo, Decapod, makes a “U” in the catch zone.
What CLYW calls the I-Beam shape, X³ calls the ZS shape and what YYF calls “ahead of the curve”.

You can apply lube to the ball bearings inside the bearing. (Look up videos on how to take the bearing apart.)