Performance difference between 5a counterweights

Is there a big performance difference between your very basic and bearing(ed) counterweights?

Bonus Question:

When does the Duncan patent expire on these? In other words, when would they be able to be legally manufactured for sale by other people/companies?

2 Likes

Biggest difference I’ve noticed is with a bearing type or others that are free spinning is you don’t have to adjust string tension (which is a big plus) because the string is not connected to a fixed point. Otherwise I just try to match appropriately weighted counterweights to the weight of the throw. I’m still a super novice at 5a though.

4 Likes

Is there an official ratio for this?

1 Like

somewhere around 1/6 I think, so most counterweights are in the 10-12g range. It affects the proportion of string you have on either side when you grab it to do tricks where both the CW and Yoyo move independently.

4 Likes
7 Likes

Here is an awesome link from the past

3 Likes

There’s also the double-dice counterweight (which is like having two distinct counterweights, I think, for slightly different tricks?) and that new adjustable weight counterweight.

1 Like

That’s amazing. How long has this website been up?

2 Likes

I’m not certain. At least a few years.

2 Likes

Wow… that is a very specific and very useful website…

3 Likes

Do you happen to know what they have a patent on? Is it just that you can’t call it a counterweight (like “yoyo” in Canada) or can you not sell anything that could be used as one?

@vegabomb or @unklesteve

1 Like

Patents are very legalese documents. I know the gist of what the patent is but hesitate to describe it for fear of making an error. Steve Brown is the person that submitted the patent so he may chime in if so inclined.

3 Likes

The patent is YoYo and Method for Using a YoYo.

https://patents.google.com/patent/US6371824B1/en

6 Likes