Paypal , who pays the fee ?

Hi all , I just make a buy for 160 we talked about price and agreed to 155 + 5 for shipping = 160 .
I sent out 160 , now he mailed me back saying I thought we said 160 . maybe he’s talking about paypal fee ? if nothing is said about paypal fee who’s responsible ? I was under the impression that it was sellers responsibility unless otherwise stated .
anyhow I’m still a little new to buying on forum , and I want to do the right thing . let me know what you guys think .

http://yoyoexpert.com/forums/index.php/topic,1529.0.html

Number 14

The recipient pays the fees.

So, if you agree to $160 and YOU send $160, the seller is accepting the $160 MINUS the Paypal fees.

Paypal will charge the seller the fee. You were not the seller, so the fee is not your responsibility. It is the seller’s responsibility. The YYE rules state clearly, that a seller cannot give you a price and then add a Paypal fee onto it. The Paypal fee was included in the price you agreed upon. You don’t owe the seller any more money.

If it’s worked out ahead of time, despite rules/guidelines to the contrary, there’s no injured party. I wanted to buy something and the seller said “I hadn’t counted on the PayPal fee in my price; can we adjust it?” before any money changed hands. The final price was still fair, so I said “sure”, and then completed the transaction. I had the option to back out or refuse, though.

But if money has already changed hands, I think everyone needs to defer to #14 linked to by crammit.

The buyer pays the extra fee, its how it’s been done for years.
That said, I take the fee into account when I list my prices, so there isn’t any surprise.

http://objection.mrdictionary.net/go.php?n=6610780

1 Like

I’ve bought and sold things for years and that’s never been my experience. The seller has always paid the fees in my transactions.