painting yoyos?

what type of paint can be used and where do i get it?i want to splash my yoyo wtiih paint

It seems automotive is the best way to go for metals. That’s what I hear anyways.

I much prefer ano’d myself. But hey, for a fairly inexpensive yet durable alternative, auto-paint isn’t really a bad way to go.

whats the difference between ano’d and automotive paint? and where would i get these paints? idc about price

I was also wondering about how to repaint my yoyo. My Macrocosm is lacking a blue hue and so I was gonna try and repaint it so that all the colors are spread evenly through. What I am wondering is, how do you keep the paint on the yoyo without making it rough or rub off on your hands? in other words make it smooth. Is it primer or do they use some sort of wax?

Sorry I have never used paint before other than in art class in elementary.

“Ano’d” is a chemical process done through the makers of the yoyo. While its possible to do it at home, its very dangerous. I advise against it. You can get a professional to do it though, but its expensive. It involves dye and electricity.
Automotive paint is paint used on cars, I believe. It’s meant for metal which makes it preferable on a metal yoyo. I don’t know much about it. But sherwin Williams makes it so maybe you could find it at one of their stores. Or an autoshop, certainly.

1 Like

When you paint, you apply very thin, even coats. Not with a paint brush. With an airbrush, usually. After that, its coated with something to protect the paint from chipping. Often times its a clear lacker that gives it shine, along with protection.

Can you spray paint a yoyo?

yes

that would not be a good idea because if you don’t calculate the weight of the paint the yoyo will become uneven and then always tilt and fall.

didn’t want to make a whole new thread for this question
can you powder coat a yoyo? my sister just got a powder coating kit to use on motorcycle parts, and I was gonna try to coat a few yoyos.