New to yo-yo

Hey! I am new to yoyo-ing, and I wanted to know if anyone had any good ways for me to become an expert. How do I choose a yoyo? How do I learn about the yoyo anatomy? Is it just google searchers or are there good websites and videos I can watch.

Thanks!

11 Likes

Congratulations, you’ve already found a great place to get you started. Check out the YoyoExpert Beginner Tutorials.

6 Likes

Most current yoyos sold today are good performers. Pick one that looks good to you and it will normally be a good choice. No need to spend a lot of money on it. A more expensive yoyo will not make you any better. As noted above check out the tutorial videos here for tips on how to do various tricks. After that it’s all practice. There’s no magic involved.

8 Likes

This thread may be of interest to you:

5 Likes

are you looking to learn Unresponsive? or Responsive? for a decent, but very cheap option, i’d go for the Magicyoyo N12. it plays really good for being like $12, but if you want a nicer option, you could look in the 'B-Grades" section, here on YoYoExpert.
you can view them here.

and these are pretty cheap options, that are decent yoyos.
Welcome to the Forums, and have fun learning!

3 Likes

This was super duper helpful. Thank you very much!

4 Likes

As a newbie who is going through this, here are a few tips that I learned by experience…

Realize that there are two phase to learning yoyo, responsive and unresponsive. You can skip responsive, but there is no need to. It is going to take a while to develop a good throw so might as well go through that stage while learning the responsive trick list. When your throw develops enough speed and spin that your responsive yoyo wants to bounce right back up to your hand, you are ready to move on to unresponsive.