New manufacturer looking for suggestions

I’m a CNC machinist who recently got back into throwing,
I was wanting to ask you guys what you would like to see in a yoyo.
Any suggestions you guys have would be more than welcome.

5 Likes

A spike or a dimple in the cups is awesome. I personally also like tight gap widths

2 Likes

I would recommend just finding attributes of things you like specifically from different designs and mashing them up into what you want. I would never narrow down a list for a new company cause I feel that it might kill possible creativity or original designs. That being said whatever you do come up with I look forward to hearing more about. Make sure you get it play tested by as many people as well for proto feedback.

3 Likes

I thought most people prefer wider gap-widths to allow for more string layers.

2 Likes

There’s a lot of shapes that haven’t been fully explored yet… bimetal W and mini W is what I’d like to see.

Organic has been done to death. But can never go wrong. I’d like to see more organic hybrid shapes like the don.

1 Like

I think a W-shape design with flat rims closer to the outer diameter/rim edge could be interesting if that is a viable design.

I wish I was a machinist. To make my own yo-yo. That’s the dream. But I like seeing lots of rim weight and creative ways to get there.

I have more fun seeing the person make something they enjoy than try to guess what others want.

The code 1 and 2 went the route of asking for community input and I found them a bit boring myself.

2 Likes

Yeah most people also play with longer string than I. My string is shorter than 1 meter /39 inches and a tight gap width really helps me do good binds.

I suggest using the grippier pads on wide gap width yoyos if you want tight binds

Can you recommend some grippy response pads please?