My End story I shared with non throwers (muggles)

I shared the below story on Facebook with my friends and family. It was very well received and I’d like to share with people that can relate now.

My favorite hobby is yoyoing. I’ve been into it since I was 11. Started with the Duncan Butterfly, upgraded to Yomega Fireballs, and there is about 100 or so more leading up to today. My friend Chris and I would practice like crazy and no one in middle school came remotely close to our skillset.

I’m not a pro at it, and I don’t do it for anyone but myself. It’s relaxing to listen to music and just flow through complex tricks until they become muscle memory. My daughter took an interest and it makes me happier than you’ll ever know.

The yoyo scene the past 20 years evolved into yoyos machined out of different strength aluminum’s and titanium. They are anodized and laser engraved which is akin to a cool paint job on a car. They can range from 20 bucks to 400 bucks and have a real collectors market.

I had an unreal collection in my early twenties, I don’t even want to tell you what they’d be worth today. Sold them off though when times were tough because you gotta do what you gotta do.

Tonight I acquired my Holy Grail. It’s called “The End” which is extremely appropriate. Only a handful were made about 12 years ago and the company no longer exists. The owner of said company just recently came back on the scene and partnered with a guy and did a final run. Only 37 were made of this particular color way, less than 200 in the world and it will never be reproduced. They sold out in one minute, and somehow I got one. Mine is the brown and silver color way, named the Eetsit.

I know that it’s likely that no one will relate on something this specific, but know it makes me super happy and I appreciate the read.

36 Likes

I hope this isn’t the real end for you, don’t stop yoyoing! The End part II looks great. Thanks for sharing your story.