metal yo-yo

as a rookie i have found that every question i have had has been answered by browsing the forums. the best advice has always been PRACTICE and that i do. i was very happy at Christmas when the grandkids wanted to see my tricks and actually were impressed. hoping next year to be buying yo-yos instead of video games. i want to start thumb grinds and do not want to remove a cap from dark magic. looking at metal and need your input. thanks in advance grandparock

DV888 is a nice choice. Do you know how to bind?

i’m hitting about 50% on binds but getting better with practice. i won’t give up because there is to much enjoyment between the frustrations. grandparock

DV888 is not a great yoyo for grinding. Especially if you are wanting to thumb grind.

Try a Lucky 7.

Fundametals from yoyofactory are always a great choice. But the new protostar is as good as a metal yoyo (and cheaper) aswell

A good grinding metal yoyo would be anything that has a beadblast or similar finish, and has an irg. Just look at yoyos you like and find something with both of those requirements :slight_smile: Good luck :wink:

now i will really show my knowledge. what does irg mean?

Ughhh. I know you weren’t asking me, but i have no clue XD

The IRg is Inner Ring Grind. Its the inside of the side of the yoyo. Its not cut flat. Its cut with a protruding lip for your fingernail to ride on. That’s only during grinds of course.

Personally, I’ve found my CLYW Pkea fantastic for grinding. CLYW Peak and Grind Machine 2 are my best grinders. The Peak could do a 10-15 second thumb grind (if you hold it at the right angle).

Best thumb grinder I have ever used is the 5 star. It is hard not to miss a thumb grind catch. And it is just all around and amazing yo-yo. The MVP and Falcon are also amazing yo-yos that are great for thumb grinding. But I should be getting a Pyro soon so we will see…

I have a boss, and the thing is amazing for thumb grinds.