looping

i want to get started looping. But i want to get the yoyo today soo ill get it at toys r us. i need help picking between a yomega raider or a yomega fireball. i know the raider has a ball berring but is it worth the extra $5 ??? ???help!!!

Yes, the Raider is worth it. It is also designed for looping. The fireball has a transaxle and is more for simple, basic yo-yoing imo.

The raider has to be modded to be any good at looping. Or at least the one i got wasnt that good. I never got to modding it, so im not sure how it is modded. I reaaaaly want a good looper too.

I personally like Yoyofactory’s Loop 1080. But I’ve heard good things about the Raider.

Actually, the Raider is pretty good stock for beginners looping. However, performing some mods that are standard for a Raider will greatly improve its performance.

I am a beginner looper and i epicly failed on the raider but did pretty well on my 3$ duncan bumblebee.

I really don’t think the raider is good for newbies. It falls apart, you lose the spacers, and the gap is too wide for beginner looping. You may could double wrap the string to fix that last one. It may be a good looper after you address these issues with modifications, but what newbie wants to do that?

I also broke my first raider because I was trying to get it tight enough to not fall apart…

The fireball is horrible. The trans-axle is so slow, you can feel the resistance as you throw the yoyo down. I’d just focus on ball bearing loopers.

I think toys R us did have a bumblebee by duncan. To me, it’s kinda weird with that cork resistance pad, but it still got the job done better than the other 2 you mentioned.

I’m speaking as a newbie myself. I’ve nearly bought all the cheaper loopers these last few weeks. I’m on the duncan hornet right now. It’s nice.