Looping-- YYF Loop 360 vs 808 -- a Newbies Perspective

This is my first review and I’m a beginner, so take it for what it’s worth, but I thought newbies to looping might find my thoughts helpful. Also, a lot of people have said these are basically the same yo-yo. While they have the same construction, they really play differently. I know most people who have been throwing a while would get the 808 because of Alex Garcia’s name alone, and $12 is nothing to most 1a throws. But… for the extreme budget conscious, or anyone else just curious on the difference, here’s my take.

YYF LOOP 808 - Champions Collection Stats:
Diameter: 57.75 mm / 2.27 inches
Width: 26.55 mm / 1.04 inches
Gap Width: 2.65 mm / .10 inches
Weight: 52.1 grams
Bearing Size: Size A
Response: CBC Small Bearing Silicone O-Ring
http://loop808.jpg

YYF LOOP 360 Stats:
Diameter: 57.25 mm / 2.25 inches
Width: 25.5 mm / 1 inches
Width: 1.7 mm / .06 inches
Weight: 50.5 grams
Bearing Size: Small Spec Bearing (Size A)
Response: Small CBC Pads
http://loop360.jpg
As you can see from the pictures, they look identical. From the specs, the 360 has a smaller gap and is a little lighter, which makes a big difference. And, I’m not sure, but it also seems that the 360 comes lubed, while the 808 comes dry.

I started looping with the 360, and with it I experimented a lot on string length, number of wraps around the axle (single, double, even triple), types of string (poly, cotton, slick 6), and eventually lubricant. My first real yo-yo was a Velocity, and after being so impressed with that, I decided to try the 360 out of YoYoFactory euphoria. Here’s my take:

The Loop 360