I've had it with $100+ throws

I’ll admit, I’m fairly new to the yoyo world (1 year experience). I couldn’t hold a candle to the incredible performers at Worlds or any other yoyo competition for that matter. But I’ve been throwing since last October. I’ve practiced tricks and built up my confidence, but mostly, I’ve tried yoyos - lots and lots of yoyos. No matter what the cost, I tried to get my hands on the newest throw that caught my eye. And I’ve come to one (probably unpopular) conclusion: Yoyos today are unjustifiably way too expensive! And this is coming from an adult with a good paying job. I can buy whichever throw I like, but I think I’m done with that.

Two of my favorite throws are the Genesis and the Burnside (both under $100). Mostly because they’re really stable, have great weight distribution, and are nearly the same shape (come and get me for that comment). Then there’s a couple of undersized throws like the Gnarwhal and the Battosai that I just love. But of the 4, only the Gnarwhal is over $100, and sadly, I’m sure that Chris and CLYW will be jacking up the price of the Gnarwhal’s next release. But after a year of trying to find the throw that works for me, I discovered that it doesn’t matter. If I stick to one throw, I get used to its weight and play, and I can do all the same tricks (as mediocre as my skills might be).