Is it really that bad?

lets jump right into it- I through front style
I can through side style (not sure if that’s the right word, makes the yoyo spin backwards ) fine do long combos and hard tricks. I just thought front style 80 percent of the time and prefer it. I have been yo-yoing on and off for 5 years (seriously since 5th grade im 16 now) and I consider my self advanced ( if it means any thing I can do all the trick tutorials on this sight ) I have learned all my combos and freestyle routines front style. The whole point of thronging side style is so your yoyo doesn’t bind up to you on accident. I find it that the yoyo binds up more often when I through side style, I think I have naturally adapted to doing most of my combos out of reverse trapize.

summary:
im a “advanced/ master player” who throughs front style does it really matter, what do you guys think

• Connor

Well if you want to be just like everyone else; it’s bad. Yoyoing is pretty much individualized and if you are happy…you’re happy. :wink:

I agree with Skitrz. Also, the point of sidestyle isn’t to avoid binds. You can do things in each style that you can’t do in the other. That’s all!

Learning to throw side style, i.e. breakaways, is pretty useful. I’m sure if you start practicing it won’t take long to master it. Also curious how you learnt tricks like Magic Drop that don’t work unless the yoyo is spinning in the breakaway throw direction.

Even more important than your throwing style is learning how to spell “throw”. “Through” and “thought” are completely different words with different meanings.

1 Like

After giving your question a bit more thought:

1. It’s not bad to have a dominant style.
  2. It’s not bad to work on weaker styles of play.
  3. It’s not bad to have a variety of styles of play.
  4. It’s not bad to be happy with where you are at, in your yoyo development.
  5. It’s not bad to want to improve your yoyo skills.
  6. It’s not bad to think about all these things.