Interview with Hadrien Bennaceur

I made an interview to Hadrien Bennaceur for my blog (todoyoyo.com), but it’s a spanish blog and many people can’t read spanish. I find it very interesting, so decided to publish it here in english, so anyone can read it easier. Hope you like it!

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs259.ash1/18673_292766726592_552191592_3582370_452189_n.jpg

Todoyoyo: After EYYC you left Caribou Team to join HSpin Network. You said it was an oportunity you couldnt miss. What about that?

Hadrien: As some of you know, I’m a student in mechanical and industrial engineering, that involves a lot of physics and a lot of calculus. Also I learnt how to draw and how to use cad software. That’s how I started drawing yoyos for myself, eventhough I was not a great player, I enjoyed using my knowledge in yoyoing.

One of the dreams I had while playing yoyo was making my own yoyo and I was able to achieve that goal in 2008 at my school, where I programmed and set the lathe to make a first, very basic but very playable yoyo. Then I had to change school, and I found myself with no way to make yoyos again, so I just looked around but couldn’t find any machinist motivated enough to start a big yoyo project.

I had the chance to join CLYW at WYYC 2009.Playing for them was an honor and I’m sad I didn’t spent more time with them, but what Hspin offered me couldn’t be refused. After EYYC is was disappointed by the results and judging system, i felt like i was not rewarded for the tricks i did on stage
and so i thought “why compete if it s for nothing…” Then I had a conversation with Christopher Kayatz, about what yoyoing means to me, about my dreams and ideas. From that talk emerged something big for me. Something that no other could give me, something that, as a engineer student and yoyo enthousiast I could never say no to.

When he called me over the phone 2 weeks later, he told me he wanted to give me the responsability to draw for Hspin