Ideas on how to get other adults into yoyoing?

So I’ve been running a yoyo club in Lamar, CO for a few years now and have had dozens of kids get involved in yoyoing. I have yet to attrack any adults (18 & up) into yoyoing. While I love teaching and working with the kids, I sure could use some help from a few adults who also love to throw. Any ideas on how to attrack adults and get them hooked on yoyoing?

Couple ideas I have are doing a skill toy class at our local community college; or going into adult bible studies and giving a quick presenation with a lesson? I’d love to hear some more ideas!

2 Likes

Honestly, if they want to get into it, they’ll make the effort to reach out to you, most likely while you’re doing your thing, or they are aware that you play yoyo. Adults act differently than kids(mostly).

I have an adult at my kid’s school attempting to buy a yoyo. Gotta get him over that hurdle and then he’s good. His kid just got a NED yoyo and he as a Pulse, so the mechanics are there to get them started. Trying to get him into a Legacy III, Classic, or New Velocity.

I’ve also noticed if I had “stock” on hand for sale, people would buy. It’s like they see, then have to immediately impulse buy to really get started. It’s like you have to get them to overcome the hassle of going to a store or ordering online. I also feel that, as much as I like ordering online, the internet is the worst way to get started initially. The drive can fizzle between exposure/want/desire, then the order(drop) and then arrival a few days later(can be gone). I just don’t want to deal with sales issues, too much hassle.

3 Likes

Silly Hobbit, yoyos are for kids!

4 Likes

:smiley:

2 Likes

Yeh not a whole lot of adults that would even consider getting into yoyos as it is for “kids” or just isn’t cool for an adult to be doing.