How to pick out a new yoyo

Im new to throwing, just over a month. And I had no clue just how much variety and how many options there were for yoyos, bearings, strings, ect!

I know most of it is just personal preference. But while Im still learning the feel of things, are there any tips for what to look out for/feel for in a yoyo? Id like to move to unresponsive, but so far just have a duncan butterfly, K2 & arrow.

3 Likes

I like metal yoyos. I would check out yoyo friends shortcut or paragraph or honestly anything else that looks interesting to you. Most yoyos are good and it really does just come down to preference. You can just buy something that looks cool and you feel like you would want to throw a lot! There are a bunch of great options here on YYE. I would say just browse around until you see something you like in your price range. You can also run it past the forums to get opinions on it if you want. Have fun!

5 Likes

Width and weight are the two things to look out for IMO. My first yo-yo was a horizon and it’s a great yo-yo but it’s a little too narrow so it doesn’t see as much use as my shortcut, even though the horizon is better for finger spins. But every yo-yo is going to have trade offs. I wish the yoyofriends shortcut was the first yo-yo I bought. I wouldn’t have bought half the other ones I have. Lol still love my horizon though.

1 Like

I agree with picking something that looks interesting in your price range and giving it a try. You won’t know what your preferences are until you’ve tried some different yoyo’s. So it’s hard to go by somebody else’s recommendation. That said, you can look at a bunch of commonly recommended ones and then pick what appeals to you most of those. That way you know you’re getting something good regardless of whether it ends up being your style.