First Yoyo Recommendations

Iam new to hobby. And want to buy my first yoyo. I was planning to buy dv888 unresponsive pack but reviews are quite bad. Then I lookd at the reviews of replay pro. Reviews were better but still there are many bad reviews. So what do you recommend and what my budget should be?

Thanks in Advance

1 Like
7 Likes

Are you looking for responsive or unresponsive?

1 Like

I don’t know. Which one should I look for?

Is there a performance different between metal and plastic yoyos? Does metal yoyos good for beginners?

Which tutorials should I follow?

I saw some people recommend shutter wide angle, do you recommend it?

Typically, metal yoyos perform better than plastic, but they are easier to damage, whereas plastics tend to be more durable. You can start with either, it just depends on whether you think you can avoid damaging the yoyo really badly from the start or not. (I am no expert, this is based on my own experience).

1 Like

Responsive if you want to practice swinging a yoyo and have return easily with a tug. Unresponsive if you think you can skip right into learning a trick called a “bind” to make it return to the hand.

I suggest you start with responsive, use it a few months, and then consider adding an unresponsive. Avoid the cheap (under $10) as generally they have shorter spin time which makes it harder to learn tricks. Ironically, as you become more experienced and develop a better throw you can do better with the cheap yoyos. My favorite beginner yoyo is the recess first base ($20) but it is sold out at this time. Not sure when it will come back in stock.

2 Likes