Total noob - looking to learn in 2023. Please recommend a yoyo or two ($200 budget)

Hey all, this is another post asking for recommendations. I’m happy to wait for items to get restocked, and so please don’t shy away from recommending yoyos that might be currently sold out. Many thanks for any and all input - it’s greatly appreciated!

Do you know how to bind the yoyo?:
No
-Do you have a yoyo that you own or played with that you have liked very much?
As a kid I had a Duncan Butterfly that I enjoyed, but it’s basically my only yoyo experience to date, and that was 20 yrs ago.
-Do you have a preferred shape of the yoyo?
No preference.
-Do you have a preferred weight or weight distribution?
No preference.
-Do you have a price range?
I’m happy to spend up to $200, though ideally that would be spent on at least two yoyos.
-Do you have a certain amount of yoyos narrowed down? List them.
Recess - First Base (currently out of stock, though happy to buy when it eventually restocks)
IYoYo - SHOOTiNG STAR
-Do you prefer a certain brand?
No
-Are you looking for a yoyo that specializes a style? Like looping, off string, freehand, etc.
No
-Do you prefer a certain response system?
Probably responsive to start, and an unresponsive for when I get the hang of things? Is it best to have one of each instead of changing the bearings regularly on a single throw?
-Do you want hubsstacks or z stacks?
Unsure what this means!
-What trick are you currently working on?
N/A
-Do you want a yoyo to Thumb grind or arm grind good?
I don’t know enough to have a preference!

2 Likes

For a yoyo that can convert from responsive to unresponsive, my favorite is the DocPop BoltXP:

But since you mentioned the Duncan Butterfly, that is still a valid option for a beginner. I think that modern responsive play is a great place to start. The tricks are accessible and a $5 plastic Butterfly won’t hold you back.

8 Likes