How long did it take you to get good?

I’m 22 an wanting to get into Yo Yo’ing, but I gotta say I stink an cant really do anything. It’s weird to see even young kids on YouTube an such be really good at it.

I mean I know it takes time to get good at anything, but I get frustrated because I’m pretty coordinated an have always been good at many sports. I think another thing that makes it hard is I have to watch videos an its just not the same as if you got to learn in person.

And to be honest I havnt seen a yo yo at any store or even a person using one in about a decade. I just happen to see them at a ToysRus while shopping for some gifts and thats where I bought the Yomega Raider. Ordered a Dash that will be here in a day or two…

So you guys got any tips or a pep talk? Lol I’d appreciate it…

I’ve been yo-yoing for about 7 months and the definition of “good” varies from one person to another; one’s definition of good could be to be able to do all the tricks on this site. However, my perception of good is that I have full mastered all of the kinda advanced tricks and improved those until they are as smooth as they can be.
I see you started with a Yomega, which is a good company to start with. (My first 2 yoyos were a Raider and a Hyper Warp Heavy Wing) Based on my experience with those, your dash should be able to cover most of the tricks up to Double or Nothing and the 1.5 mount.
As for your coordination- yo-yoing requires such a different kind of muscle memory and coordination that you have to hone these skill separately from other sports
And of course, the best thing you can do is…

Maintain your bearing
J.K., the most important thing is to…

Practice :slight_smile:

As long as you can throw one and get it back to your hand, you’re better than most people already. So a few days to get a pretty good throw.

You’ll be good in a year or so if you practice.

Yeah, I started a good year and a half ago yo-yoing on/off and I can say I’m pretty good.