What am a doing wrong?

I have been yo-yoing for three years so far. But I feel like I only have the skill of someone who has played for one. Am I doing something wrong? What can I do to step up my game?

5 Likes

Don’t worry about other players, learn the tricks you want to learn. If you really want to get better I would work hard on learning a new trick outside your comfort zone. Find someone in your area that yo-yos as well.

12 Likes

You’re not alone! I taught my neighbor to throw almost 2 years ago and he is far beyond skills than me even though I crossed into intermediate in 2018. I just do ME and learn at my own pace and learn or practice what is interesting to ME. A lot of the advanced stuff he does is not of interest to me to learn anyway. All that matters to me is that I am way better than I was last year.

13 Likes

Love to hear you really want to take your skills to the next level. If you want to improve at a faster rate there are a few things you can do. The first thing is obviously yo-yo more often. Let’s say you and another guy both started yoyoing 3 years ago but you only throw 1 hour a day and he throws 3, he will be able to learn more in the same 3 years. The 2nd thing you can do is learn more tricks more often. The more you learn the easier all of your old tricks will become. If you start learning a new trick and can’t get it after a few days… Leave the trick where you get it to and move on to a new trick. Sometimes a trick is just beyond your skills at the time… Learn more then circle back to the trick that gave you trouble. Once you learn a new trick spend some time getting as many reps in as you can to work on building muscle memory.

9 Likes

Get smooth at one trick at a time. 10 smooth tricks are better than 20 sloppy.