How do we make more yo-yoers?

Steve Brown posted some insights about the state of the industry back in January:

The gist of it is that it’s maybe too easy these days to create a new yo-yo … but how do we create new yo-yo players?

What we need right now is for all these tiny companies to work towards creating new players, instead of just capitalizing on a market that someone else created for them. Anyone can make yoyos, what we need are companies to make players.

If someone gave you $100,000 and said “your single solitary goal with this money is to create more yo-yo players… go!” what would you do?

8 Likes

I absolutely love this question! I’m also flattered you’d be curious to hear my thoughts. I also won’t pretend to be an authority in any regard either. Everything I’m suggesting is a guess, at best. I have no real experience or track record in creating a legion of Yoyo players. Anyone can feel more than free to disagree as well, but here are my thoughts.

The solution people generally come up with when asked about how to get more players is increase “exposure”. We think: If more people knew about Yoyoing, then it would grow!!

I don’t necessarily agree with that. Sure going viral may help… but the thing is Yoyoing already has gone viral, many times. After all Evan, Gentry, Ben Conde, Hajime & Yoyo Baby (Kazuya Murata). Have all gone viral, and we’ve yet to see a viral expansion of our community.

So if mere exposure isn’t enough, what is? What makes a kid who is only kinda interested in Yoyoing, ultimately stick with the hobby to stay and practice for years at a time?

I can’t speak for everyone, but for me it was Yoyo competitions. Had I not had a yearly competition to train and prepare for each year, that I genuinely though I could win. I probably would have abandoned Yoyoing within a year or two.

I think in order for Yoyoing to grow, we need more competitions, and not neccesarily big competitions, but small ones.