Horizontal Tricks??

So I figured that it is way past time that I started learning horizontal, but I am having some trouble. Any tips/suggestions??

Practice with a high walled yoyo. When you switch to a low walled yoyo, it’ll be really easy.

1 Like

What kind of idea is that? With a high-walled yoyo you can’t practice horizontal. It might be easy for someone experienced, but when you’re just starting you’re not going to get anywhere. Use a low-walled yoyo.

3 Likes

Well, I’m using a yoyo factory shutter. That’s pretty low walled…

Try a simple 1.5 mount combo instead of a NTH trapeze. Some people may find it easier to control the tilt with the TH than the NTH in the beginning.

1 Like

Watch “Jensen Kimmitt - Basics of Sideways YoYoing” it’s a fantastic video, that’s where I’m learning from

what does high walked an low walled mean

Draupnir=low walled
888x=high walled

My old tutorial, hope it helps.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEJvFWp_5t0

Contrary to popular beliefs, there is nothing wrong learning horizontal with a high walled yoyo… I did learned on a dark magic bootleg few years ago, and I’m glad I did because now I understand how plane control works (hence the above tutorial).
Sorry for the nerdy looks lol

There’s nothing wrong with practicing yoyoing with a super worn out string,or going into a 1a contest with a Duncan butterfly, you’ll just have a hard time doing it.
But I will have to say, learning horizontals on a dark magic(1 or 2) isn’t a very smart idea.
Better to get something like a shutter instead, which is capable of horizontals way easier than any high wall yoyo

Practicing yoyoing with worn out string have no real benefit.