Home made Titanium yoyo too responsive?

I made myself a super small undersize Titanium yoyo. The bearing seat and response was cloned from 1 drop’s style. The response is Red Silicone. The bearing is a dead clean ceramic buddha.

My problem is that the yoyo sleeps for a long time but even at low RPM if I tug the string it comes back. Hard. The yoyo weighs 71 grams and is 38mm diameter. I took the silicone out of 1 half and it is still super responsive. This is my first time using Red Silicone does it need time to break in? Will it get less snaggy over time?

Over all I am super excited to have made an almost vibe free titanium yoyo from scratch. :slight_smile: I have landed spirit bomb-kwijibo-magic drop-shockwave-hop to brother mount bind combos with it. :slight_smile: I love it other then it’s desire to snag and bite me. Pics will be posted when I find my phone.

Special thanks to 1 Drop! I stole the side effects out of my Yelets and used that as a bearing seat for this. Works awesome! Those guys at 1 drop are geniuses!

The guts.

That looks pretty sweet man

What I am going to guess is the response groove is too wide and/or needs a smaller sized bearing. Small yoyos typically either have slimmer response grooves or use a smaller bearing such as A or D bearings. Those are just my guesses.

I think I will cut my response groove deeper and only partially fill it so it is recessed. Hopefully that helps. Right now I can’t do any lacerations or hooks because it binds when there is slack. I will let you guys no how it turns out.

How big is the gap?

Is the bearing confirmed totally unresponsive in another yoyo?

That is a really wide groove for silicone.

First things first…

Without any silicone in it at all, does it respond? it shouldn’t… it should just fall down the string without even spinning when you don’t have any response in it.