Hitting a wall

I’m still fairly new to throwin. Like a lot of others I try and find things to learn online. It just seems whatever I find is either something I know already or the trick I find is too difficult for me. Like can’t even understand it. Is this just me? Is there a good playlist or something for people in the middle? Have any of you hit a wall?

9 Likes

I occasionally will go through the same thing, and when that happens I like to either switch styles of throwing or do things I normally would not do within a trick. Just mess around with alternate dismounts or rhythms with your tricks. Good luck (:

8 Likes

Progress is tantamount to happiness.

I would suggest looking up tutorials for a few tricks that are totally out of your trick comfort zone, and expand your overall well roundedness.

Learning tricks in styles that I don’t usually play always helps me with little slumps or walls.

5 Likes

I consider dabbing into different styles to be invaluable and very refreshing.

8 Likes

Don’t expect to learn a new trick in one session. Break it down, and come back to it. I need to take my own advice though :wink:

4 Likes

Just stick with it. Pretty soon, the tricks you watch a tutorial on that look to “busy” or hard, you will be doing in no time. Practicing Consistantly wins the battle here.

3 Likes

Everyone hits walls, all normal folks anyways. As a very slow learner, my advise to you is to focus on two things, tricks you find fun, and tricks you just feel driven to learn.
There are tricks that took me many months to ‘learn’ , to the extent I can hit them some times. I am okay with that, I am still working on STM, that’s been going on years now.
Look at it more as a process than a check list. If you are learning anything, or even just enjoying old familiar tricks, you are way ahead of the game.

6 Likes