Help Me Spend My Money

I am a beginner but can do basic stuff. My two sons are learning. We are having fun. They are good with their Butterflies for now. I want something new and I want it now. I want a few new different types of yo yos to start getting a feel for things. I want some new strings to play with. Not sure what other accessories I need. Let’s say I have $150 to start with, how should I spend my money? I am ordering soon so help keep me from making mistakes.

Get two Legacy II’s in different colors for your two sons. With the thin bearing pre-installed, it’s responsive. With the SPEC bearing, the yoyos become unresponsive and able to handle anything you want to do.

For yourself, replace the Legacy II with a Dark Magic II, for the same reasons.

Now, you’ve spent around $100 so far. Get 200 YYE 100% polyester bulk strings in 2 bright colors(yellow and green are great) and a tube of YYJ thin lube. Now you’re around $126 or so, before shipping. You may also want to get a YYF Multi-Tool, which can help pull bearings, sometimes adjust axles and can cut strings. For something differente, add a Stackless Grind machine or a Starbrite, a PSG, or an Asteroid or Speed Maker, a Kickside or a Lyn Fury. Or maybe some Werrd yoyo holders.

Just a suggestion.

1 Like

A great beginner yoyo that will take you all the way to advanced play is for sure the dark magic. A great yoyo for responsive play and will take you far is the yomega maverick or dash. For the price you can’t beat it. It’s responsive and can even do a lot of advanced tricks like Eli hops and pretty much anything that doesn’t require slack. Another of my favorites when is was starting out for unresponsive play was the was the yoyofactory whip. It requires a bind but for 10$ it’s a great starting point but you will out grow it for sure because it is very light. But because it’s plastic you don’t have to worry about dinging it up.