Help a new guy pick the right 1A/2A yoyo

Hey everyone. Im new to this great hobby and very greatful to have found this forum. I have learned more in a week of reading through this forum than i did two weeks of browsing various websites and videos. Its a lot to take in for a new guy with all of the different styles of yoyos and strings which makes it easy to spend alot of money trying to find what im looking for and Im hoping to bypass alot of that with your help.

Im looking for a good butterfly style (at least that is what I think is probably best) yoyo that can bridge the gap between 1A and 2A well. I have been throwing a LP and really been enjoying it but i also would like to be able to do string tricks. I really like the LP (i even ordered a second one) but I want to be able to change it up now and again.

The yoyo i have in mind is the Duncan Freehand but would really like to hear your suggestions because there may be a better yoyo out there I dont know about.

Thanks in advance!

4 Likes

1A and 2A have opposite needs for setup. 1A needs something wide with a lot of rim weight and less responsive, 2A needs something narrow with a lot of center weight and very responsive.

If you have 2 LPs already, you’re covered for 2A. I’d recommend going for a dedicated 1A throw next. I have a Shooting Star that I enjoy.

If you’re just starting out and like the Butterfly shape, a Butterfly XT will get you through your beginner tricks and loops. It’s a steal at $5, but you will outgrow it quickly if you want to go deeper in 1A.

I love the Freehand. It plays 1A well but I wouldn’t recommend it for looping. I find it too heavy.

3 Likes

If beginning 1A yoyo play, I would recommend getting a yoyo factory one. It is only 10 dollars and it plays nicely.

1 Like

I agree on the Red Blood Cell suggestion. It’s probably the closest thing to a hybrid 1a/2a. However it is very expensive if you’re just starting out.