GLASS fixed axle yoyo!

Mile High Yoyo Club member LKglass @lkglass on insta is a master glass blower. Lately he has been perfecting the art of making 100% glass fixed axle yoyos. They are amazingly beautiful and they actually play! Catch him at Nats and you may be lucky enough to be able to snag one. Show some love on insta at @lkglass his work is stunning.

He also makes really awesome eye pendants that have kind of become a mark of our club.

23 Likes

I’ve been seeing his stuff in insta and makes me want one. I need to message him see if he would have any interest in shipping a glass yoyo at all. I can theoretically make a crappy wood yoyo and have (it wasn’t good) or even cast a craptastic metal yoyo or plastic but I have no knowledge or skill in the slightest about how glass blowing works.

3 Likes

I have been getting the shapes and weights similar to most fixed axle yoyos. Sometimes I still make heavy or wide ones. The response is quite varied but will work with any string if you chapstick it enough. Planning on making many more of these this year!

18 Likes

There he is the man himself!

These are awesome

For those that haven’t seen it here’s my vid of the day I spent with LKGlass capturing his process

10 Likes

I have to say that i was “Blown” away when i heard about glass yoyos, and the fact that these are funtional is totally nuts! LKglass is not only a skilled thrower and apparently very skilled glass blower he is also a really cool guy to deal with. I have a tendency to over do things, and this time it was well worth giving into the weakness! They do have a bit of vibe (what ever! ) but are a lot of fun. OA for sure, and I’m able to get a bit more sleep now so i actually threw a brain twister which is one of the scariest thing I’ve done with a yoyo! Glass spinning infront of my face :blush:Went over to side style after that!