FG

what does fg mean?
Every one’s always saying it

It means fools gold aka referenceing clyw b grade yoyos.

And the difference is?
(I’m a noob)

B grade yo-yo’s are defective yo-yo’s that came out with anodizing flaws or vibe. Vibe means the yo-yo isn’t as smooth on the string or on grinds as a typical yo-yo of that kind. B-grades have these issues or a combination of these issues, but you can buy them at a cheaper price.

Well, B-grades mean different things to different companies. Except for someone convinced it was a “secret reserve”, it means there’s some defect or other issue with the yoyo.

For CLYW, it usually means the yoyo may have a bit more vibe than they’ll want to allow as an A-grade. It can also mean a bad anodizing job. They recently sold some that the colors weren’t deep enough as FG’s. The upside is you get blown out pricing and if you’re willing to deal with often trivial issues, you’re scoring one heck of a great deal.

YYF does something similar, except they stamp B-grade on it. Ano flaws or excess vibe. Still highly playable, just can’t be sold for top dollar.

B grades are often great ways to save money on amazing yoyos for what often appears no valid reason!

B-Grades are yoyos that don’t meet the manufacturers standards, so they are sold at a discounted price. Oftentimes they are a result of flaws in the anodization (the color) or a slight vibe. I own an FG Chief from CLYW, and it appears to me to be flawless. Many manufacturers just hold themselves to VERY high standards. In my opinion, B-Grades are a great deal :]

Just know, when you guys go to sleep at night, that you were never first. I beat all of you. Good game.

4 Likes

I do disagree on your technically correct term of “defective”.

I mean, some of these B-grades are so amazing, it’s hard to imagine that due to a strict technicality, they are defective.