FFY Grind Machine is now responsive

Hey guys

I am new at yoyoing and I bought a Grind Machine. After 3 weeks af playing it, it became responsive. Can anyone explain how the response system works? Is there a way to make it totally unresponsive again?

Two things to check:

First, see if you have a knot down at the bearing, which may be causing an extra loop which wold contribute to the possibility of things being more responsive.

Second, perhaps a thorough bearing cleaning might be in order. Have you lubed it? If so, what did you use to lubricate the bearing? How much did you use?

The response system is a pair of rubber/silicone rings(white) close to where the bearing seat is. If you’ve bought new, ideally the yoyo might be a big more responsive that normal as you break the response system in through throws and binds and play. If you used the wrong response pads, they might be too tall and causing extra responsiveness. But, at 3 weeks, your pads should be “fine”

Third, the bearing might be breaking in. Keep playing, it will go back to unresponsive soon.

That’s all I can think of.

1. I don’t have a knot :slight_smile:

2. I havn’t clean it a all and havn’t used any lub in the bearing. Can that be the reason? How often should I clean it and use lub?

Thank you for the detailed answer :slight_smile:

1: Good. That’s one a lot of new people don’t notice.

2: No cleaning and no lube? I know the bearing comes with some lube from the factory. How often you clean it and use lube is one of those personal preferences. I find I prefer to clean my bearings right away to get any stuff out of them, then lube very lightly using YYJ thin lube or One Drop VM4 lube very sparingly(because the bearing shields are off, more lube gets into the bearing, so use less lube).