Favorite SEs?

Hi all!

I’m new to SEs and wanted to hear some opinions on what SEs you enjoy in your yoyos. I have the privilege of getting to test Asteria Yoyos’ side-effect performance bimetal (SEBI for short) and a friend (shoutout to @mag) sent me a ton of SEs to mess around with for playtesting. Aluminum ULs seem to be the most performant option that lends the smallest room for error, but other options (like brass spikes, for example) lead to a slower more controllable experience. I’m still messing around with the array of options but I’d like to hear from you all what you like! There’s no anti-yo or stunt peg options, by the way–mag kept those treasures rightfully under lock and key. :joy:

8 Likes

I’ve always just used ULs because few OD yoyos are very rim weighted, so I try to use SEs that capitalise on reducing centreweight.

6 Likes

I’ve got 3 that are compatible (Kamuraiju, Panorama, L. Terrarian) and I prefer flat caps most of the time.

3 Likes

Yeah, this yoyo is a competition bimetal at heart:

Very min-maxed its default state

11 Likes

I like lego, UL, and flat caps the best so far.

3 Likes

Mostly flat caps but AL ULs for some yo-yos and as a change of pace. It’s true the that recent ODs are rarely prominently rim weighted, but I find that some are just more enjoyable with the centerwieight.

But I have only been able to try the range between AL ULs (2.5 g) and AL flat caps (3.3 g). I really wish there were more variety that was easily available. This image is from an email I got on 6/20/2022, which I regret ignoring at the time. Since then, flat caps are the heaviest I have seen individually or installed on a new yo-yo.

Screen Shot 2023-10-07 at 5.17.00 PM

3 Likes

What is it?

1 Like

Asteria Yoyos SEBI prototype! This is the current configuration:

9 Likes