Duncan metropolis vs. dv888

I have no experience with either of these yoyos and I’m not sure which one to buy.

Neither get an Echo…Best yoyo in that price range IMO

Are you a new player? I personally don’t have much experience with either of these throws but if it’s going to be your first metal I can definitely give you some feedback. What yoyos have you played with? Do you have any preferences? :slight_smile:

It’s my first metal and I have had a grind machine and a North Star and I have no preferences

I personally would go with a Duncan Echo as I mentioned before. Its a nice confortable shape, smooth, bright colored ano, grinds amazing and is all around a pretty much perfect yoyo. If your keen on the dv888 or metropolis, I own both and I would pick the dv888 but I think an Echo would be a better choice

I got both.

The Metropolis must have had a run that had some issues. My first one was a string eater, so I sent it to Duncan, who in turn replaced it. Now it’s much better. The issue really is a design flaw. You have a raised area before the bearing seat area such as many other metal V-shapes have, but on top of that, there’s a tiny raised lip at the outer edge of the bearing seat and THIS is where the issue can be. This little raised lip is completely not necessary. That’s what was cutting through strings. Other than that, plays great. My 2nd one has no issues but I might but a grooved or shaped bearing just to help keep that string away from the edges. It’s a good performer in all other aspects.