Dragonfly

Hey guys,
I’m new to this “advanced” yoyoing and have just started using my first ball bearing yoyo (about 4-5 days). A Duncan Dragonfly. Having some trouble landing mounts and I cant get a sleeper for longer than 15 - 20 secs. Is there anything I can do to help this or am i looking at upgrading already?

thanks in advance

the duncan dragonfly isn’t very good. Are you advanced enough to bind? if so you could try making the dragonfly unresponsive. I took the cork pads out of mine, and put in some flowable silicone, and it works okay.
But it’s not that best yoyo to learn on. you should go for a yyj lyn fury or a yyf one. Or if you have a little higher of a price limit, go for a dm2. :slight_smile:

I haven’t really practiced binding yet as the dragonfly is pretty responsive, but im sure i could figure it out if need be. I was thinking of getting a duncan metal drifter next although the “one” looks pretty cool too for such a low price.

ehh I’d steer clear of the metal drifter. there are a lot better throws for around the same price. the one is responsive or unresponsive with the change of a bearing. and the lyn fury is responsive, and unresponsive is you do a really simple mod.

I don’t see why you can’t learn a ton on a responsive Duncan Dragonfly. 4-5 days is not a long time. Landing mounts smoothly and getting long spin times takes a lot of practice. So yeah, practice will help with your troubles. Don’t get discouraged; have fun!

Trust me, it’s your throw, not the yoyo. While the dragonfly isn’t that great of a yoyo, you can certainly get all of the beginner tricks down on it. Just keep practising your throw.

1 Like

so upgrading to something like the one or velocity isn’t going to really be beneficial in helping to land mounts or get longer sleep times? what about practicing binds, can you bind with a responsive yoyo?

Can you bind? Yes. Effectively? No.